Lítore Quartet stands up with the CIMCA Primer Premio 2022

Beach Quartet - FIRST PRIZE OF THE CIMCA 2022

Last weekend's grand final was held XIX Arnuero International Chamber Music Competition (CIMCA) in the House of Tide Soano, located in the incomparable setting of the "Ecoparque de Trasmiera", an authentic open-air museum and a unique space in Cantabria, to approach history, landscape, gastronomy and culture of this land tide.

After the qualifying auditions, the selected chamber ensembles disputed the grand final, in the presence of a professional jury made up of composers Mauricio Sotelo (president) and Mario Carro, the musicians Alejandro Saiz (fiddle), and Enrique Lapaz (piano), as well as the journalist Luz Orihuela, director and presenter of the program “Andante con Moto” of Radio Clásica – Radio Nacional, Light Orihuela.

Beach Quartet, the saxophone quartet based in Palma de Mallorca made up of Jaime Estévez (soprano saxo), Sira Pellicer (alto saxo), Hugo Lomba (tenor sax) and Michael Flores (baritone sax), won the first prize of the CIMCA 2022, endowed with 1500 euros, diploma and paid concert in the cycle "Creating futures" of the Botín Center of Santander. The second prize went to the Iberia Quartet, cuerda quartet formed by Marta Peño (fiddle), Luis Rodriguez (fiddle), Dawn of Rus (viola) and Arnold Rodriguez (cello), who received an endowment of 1000 euros, diploma and paid concert in the “Marcos Históricos” cycle of the Santander International Festival.

further, the CIMCA 2022 also handed out three other awards: the "Ricardo Hontañón" Award for the most outstanding interpretation of a work after 1945 it was for the Links Trio, which also received the award for the most outstanding Cantabrian group. The violinist Marta Peño (Iberia Quartet) received the “Jesús de Monasterio” Award for the most outstanding violinist.

During the celebration of the CIMCA 2022, Two chamber works commissioned by the Cantabrian competition were also premiered: lucifer of blue: the sea…, Mauricio Sotelo, Y Fullness, by Mario Carro.

Arnuero International Chamber Music Competition